ABCD Committee

The day-to-day activity of ABCD is led by an executive supported to the ABCD committee.  The executive consists of Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, Meetings Secretary and the previous Chairman. The committee comprises of elected members and co-opted members who are brought in to support the committee because of their specialist knowledge, role within ABCD or their role outside of the organisation. You can view the details of the current committee below.  Click the relevant link to view a short biography of the committee member and for a link to email the committee member. For more information on the current committee and to see previous ABCD committees click here.

ABCD Officers

Dipesh Patel

Honorary Meetings Secretary

Dinesh Nagi

Honorary Chairman

Russell Drummond

Honorary General Secretary

Anthony Robinson

Honorary Treasurer

Committee Members

Karen Adamson  

Scottish Representative

Dipesh Patel

Committee Member

Marc Atkin

Committee Member

Ana Pokrajac

Committee Member

Ansu Basu

Committee member 
Elected 2017

Gerry Rayman

Co-opted member
Diabetes UK

Umesh Dashora

News Editor, BJD

Sam Rice

Welsh Representative





Marie France-Kong

Acting Editor, BJD

Susannah Rowles

Co-opted Lead
Transitional Care

Alison Gallagher

Committee Member

Bob Ryder

Co-opted Website Co-ordinator & Clinical Lead
Nationwide Audits of New Diabetes Therapies

Ian Gallen

Lead on Driving Issues

Thozhukat Sathyapalan

Academic Consultant within 10 years 
of Appointment

Stella George

Workforce Co-Ordinator

Patrick Sharp

Co-Opted Type 1 Lead

Vijay Jayagopal

Committee member

Elected 2017

Alan Sinclair

Lead of ACCEA

Hugh Jones

Chair, Academic Sub-Committee                 

Baldev Singh

Lead Mentorship Programme
Chair, education & Development Sub-Committee

John Lindsay 

Northern Ireland Representative

Jonathan Valabhji

Co-opted member
National Clinical Director Obesity & Diabetes

Andrew Macklin

Chair, Information & Communication 

Chris Walton

Ex-Officio Chairman

Munachiso Nwokolo

YDEF/SpR Representative

Emma Wilmot

Insulin Pump Network Chair




Peter Winocour

Co-Opted member
Lead Renal Network