Skip to main content

The Rowan Hillson Inpatient Diabetes Award 2024

JBDS - IP Joint British Diabetes Societies for inpatient care

Are you at the forefront of inpatient diabetes care and demonstrating innovation? Shine a light on your team's achievements with the Rowan Hillson Inpatient Diabetes Award 2024. This prestigious national award has been running since 2014 and awards excellence in inpatient diabetes care. This JBDS-IP project is led by Prof Umesh Dashora. The submissions will be judged against criteria by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson MBE FRCP, former National Clinical Director for Diabetes at the Department of Health.

Submit your entries by June 2nd, 2024

•    Winner £500
•    Runner-up £300

We are looking for innovations that demonstrate one or more of the following:
•    Empower People with Diabetes: Does your programme prioritise autonomy, education, and self-management skills of people with diabetes?
•    Demonstrate Value and Impact: Can you quantify the positive impact your work has on patient outcomes, healthcare costs, and value-based healthcare?
•    Encourage Collaboration: Does your team embrace interdisciplinary partnerships and shared decision-making fostering ongoing collaboration and knowledge sharing?
•    Hold Scalability Potential: Can your innovative approach be adapted and implemented in other settings while maintaining its effectiveness?
•    Demonstrate Sustainability: Showcase how your programme is designed for long-term success, considering factors like resource allocation, staff training, and community engagement.

Presentation at the ABCD/DTN Autumn conference 2024
•    The winning teams will be invited to present their innovations at the next ABCD/DTN conference in Bristol (September 4-5th, 2024) in Bristol. 
•    ABCD will offer free conference registration, complimentary places at the conference dinner, accommodation for one night and travel expenses for 2 team members from the winning and runner-up teams.

Complete the application form

•    The outcome of this initiative will be published on the ABCD, Diabetes UK and DISN UK Group websites to share excellent practice. 
•    The winners will be invited to submit their entries for publication at the British Journal of Diabetes


Omar Mustafa, Chair, Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care (JBDS-IP) group

Ketan Dhatariya, Chair, Association of British Clinical Diabetologists (ABCD)