ABCD Election Results

Dipesh Patel, ABCD Chair
Date of the announcement: 
Thursday, 2 July, 2020

I am delighted announce the results from the recent ABCD election.

We were fortunate to have several worthy candidates standing for two committee positions which were available.

I would like to congratulate both Professor Ketan Dhatariya and Dr Peter Hammond for being successfully elected in a hard fought contest this year. I look forward to working with them on behalf of the Association and its members and wish them every success. For those who were not elected, my sincere thanks for your efforts and willingness to contribute.

Dr Umesh Dashora has taken on the executive officer role as Honorary Meetings Secretary and will lead a Scientific Meetings Subcommittee, subject to committee approval.

Dr Susannah Rowles continues in post as Honorary Secretary and Dr Andy Macklin will continue to serve as Honorary Treasurer for remaining terms in 2021. I would like to thank them for their tireless efforts and council especially in the challenging times we find ourselves currently in. 

Dr Peter Winocour and Dr Rob Gregory are to demit from the committee, both having served a number of terms in office and having successfully chaired the Association in the past, sincere thanks for all the hard work to propel the Association and its work to where it is today. Dr Winocour will continue to work with renal and CaReMe networks.

Dr Ian Gallen will also demit from the co-opted role as previous chair of DVLA committee and should be acknowledged for work over successive terms.

Significant gratitude must go to the outgoing chair, Dr Dinesh Nagi for his steadfast leadership and efforts which have resulted in much positive output over the last three years. I am reassured he is due to stay on as Ex-Officio Chair of the committee and as a trustee of Diabetes Care (ABCD) Ltd.

Dipesh Patel
Chair, ABCD

ABCD Webinar Series

ABCD Webinars