The 2017 Rowan Hillson Inpatient safety award

Professor Mike Sampson (Chair, JBDS - IP)
Date of the announcement: 
Tuesday, 19 December, 2017

We are inviting colleagues to submit entries to this competition: Improving Inpatient Diabetes Safety: Best Digital Initiative. This JBDS – IP project is being led by our colleagues Umesh Dashora, Debbie Stanisstreet, and Erwin Castro.  The submissions will be judged against predetermined criteria, by an independent panel chaired by Rowan Hillson, and the winner will be awarded the prestigious annual Rowan Hillson Inpatient Safety Award at the ABCD Spring meeting.  The outcome of this initiative will be published on the ABCD, Diabetes UK and DISN UK Group websites to share excellent practice. This competition follows the very successful 2014, 2015 and 2016 competitions to find the best UK insulin chart, the best hypoglycaemia avoidance initiative and the best pharmacy initiative. Competitive applications are likely to be those that show hard evidence of benefit, that are translatable to other Trusts, are costed, are relatively simple and sustainable, and which have been commissioned or supported by an Acute Trust. This competition is open to all health care professionals. To download the application form click here. The closing date is 28.02.18

Information for HCPs

COVID-19 Information for Healthcare Professionals