Skip to main content

Rowan Hillson Awards

Rowan Hillson Inpatient Safety Award 2024

Are you at the forefront of inpatient diabetes care and demonstrating innovation? Shine a light on your team's achievements with the Rowan Hillson Inpatient Diabetes Award 2024. This prestigious national award has been running since 2014 and awards excellence in inpatient diabetes care. This JBDS-IP project is led by Dr Umesh Dashora. The submissions will be judged against criteria by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson MBE FRCP, former National Clinical Director for Diabetes at the Department of Health.

Submit your entries by June 2nd, 2024

•    Winner £500
•    Runner-up £300

We are looking for innovations that demonstrate one or more of the following:
•    Empower People with Diabetes: Does your programme prioritise autonomy, education, and self-management skills of people with diabetes?
•    Demonstrate Value and Impact: Can you quantify the positive impact your work has on patient outcomes, healthcare costs, and value-based healthcare?
•    Encourage Collaboration: Does your team embrace interdisciplinary partnerships and shared decision-making fostering ongoing collaboration and knowledge sharing?
•    Hold Scalability Potential: Can your innovative approach be adapted and implemented in other settings while maintaining its effectiveness?
•    Demonstrate Sustainability: Showcase how your programme is designed for long-term success, considering factors like resource allocation, staff training, and community engagement.

Presentation at the ABCD/DTN Autumn conference 2024
•    The winning teams will be invited to present their innovations at the next ABCD/DTN conference in Bristol (September 4-5th, 2024) in Bristol. 
•    ABCD will offer free conference registration, complimentary places at the conference dinner, accommodation for one night and travel expenses for 2 team members from the winning and runner-up teams.

Complete the application form

•    The outcome of this initiative will be published on the ABCD, Diabetes UK and DISN UK Group websites to share excellent practice. 
•    The winners will be invited to submit their entries for publication at the British Journal of Diabetes

Omar Mustafa, Chair, Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care (JBDS-IP) group

Ketan Dhatariya, Chair, Association of British Clinical Diabetologists (ABCD)

2023 Best innovation to improve patient safety when discharging from hospital

Winner: Dr Chung Thong Lim and colleagues at Luton and Dunstable Hospital, Bedfordshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

A new online patient flagging system for effective and safe diabetes patients’ follow-up when discharged from hospital. Further details in this article published in the British Journal of Diabetes.

Runner up: Emma Green and colleagues at Derriford hospital, University Hospitals Plymouth

2022 The best interventions: Redesigning, rebuilding, and maintaining safe inpatient diabetes care during COVID

Winner: Dr Punith Kempegowda on behalf of the DEKODE team, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

An innovative quality improvement project across hospitals during COVID to improve diabetes-related ketoacidosis (DKA) management and study DKA in people  with  COVID. Further details in this article published in the British Journal of Diabetes.

Highly Commended: Dr Adrian Li, King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

2019 Best Perioperative Pathway for People with Diabetes

Winner: Dr David Burckett-St.Laurent, Consultant anaesthetist, Aneurin Bevin University Health Board

  1. Pre-operative Assessment Clinic
    1. 1a POSTER Pre-assessment plan job allocation
    2. 1b STICKERS Pre-assessment
    3. 1c REFERRAL Pre-operative Optimisation of Diabetes Clinic
    4. 1d Perioperative Diabetes Plans
  2. Cards and Posters for ward
    1. 2a CARD Peri-op quick reference card
    2. 2b POSTER Simplified practice and foot safety
  3. Charts for use on wards
    1. CHART Critical Care VRIII
    2. CHART Drug Management (NBM Procedures and Surg)
    3. CHART OBS VRIII (template)
    4. CHART Universal VRIII (Surg and Med)
  4. Service Evaluation and Audit
    1. 4a AUDIT Endocrine Led Peri-operative Optimisation of Diabetes clinic
      1. 4a1 DATA Referral to Endocine led Pre-operative Optimisation of Diabetes Clinic
    2. 4b SERVICE EVALUATION of Peri-operative Diabetes Care
      1. 4b1 DATA Peri-operative Diabetes Plans completed 4-18 to 4-19
      2. 4b2 DATA Pre-operative Optimisation of Diabetes referrals 15-1-20 to 6-3-18

Runner-up: Dr Nicola Leech, The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

2018 Best Inpatient Educational Programme for Health Care Professionals

Winner: Dr Kath Higgins, Consultant in Diabetes Care, Clinical Lead for Inpatient Diabetes Care, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

2017 Improving Inpatient Diabetes Safety: Best Digital Initiative

Winner: Dr Stuart Ritchie, Consultant Physician, Western General Hospital, NHS Lothian

2016 Best joint pharmacy and diabetes team initiative to improve insulin and prescribing safety in hospital

Winners (2):

Dr Suma Sugunendran, Consultant Endocrinology and Diabetes and colleagues, Royal Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Sallianne Kavanagh, Health Education Leadership Fellow and colleagues: Safer Diabetes / Lead Clinical Pharmacist-diabetes,Sheffield Teaching Hospital NHS FT

2015 Best UK Inpatient Hypoglycaemia Avoidance Initiative

Winner: Dr Gerry Rayman, Dr  Rajesh Rajendran, Christopher Kelly, Sarah Barker, Rachael Round, Anne Scott and the DICE Team, The Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

2014 Best in class’ insulin prescription chart

Winner: Dr Jenny Clayton, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust