2018 Rowan Hillson Inpatient Safety Award Winners

Umesh Dashora (ABCD Committee Member, News editor, BJD), Erwin Castro and Debbie Stanisstreet
Date of the announcement: 
Monday, 29 April, 2019

Announcing the results of this national competition for ‘the best inpatient educational programme for Health Care Professionals’. One winner and two runners up were identified. There were 7 entries, and we are very grateful to Dr Rowan Hillson and her fellow judges, Dr Anne Kilvert, Dr Clare Crowley, Sarah Gregory and Emma Green for their time in judging these submissions.

Dr Umesh Dashora, Erwin Castro and Debbie Stanisstreet led this project, the winning Trusts and the lead person who submitted their entries are as follows:


Dr Kath Higgins, Consultant in Diabetes Care, Clinical Lead for Inpatient Diabetes Care, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Joint Runner-up:

Dr Michael Lloyd, Clinical Education Lead Pharmacist, St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Joint Runner-up:

Ruth Miller, Diabetes Nurse Consultant, NHS North West London Collaboration of Clinical Commissioning Groups

This initiative from the Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care aims to promote excellent practice in the safety of inpatients with diabetes. The submissions were judged by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson against predefined criteria. The winning submissions are available to download from ABCD, Diabetes UK and DISN UK Group websites.

There will be an awards presentation for the winner and runners up at the ABCD meeting on Thursday 16th May 2019 in Loughborough.

We are grateful to Christine Jones for coordinating this award.

For more information, please visit www.diabetologists-abcd.org.uk or contact the Safer Insulin Prescribing Group: u.dashora@nhs.net, debbie.stanisstreet@nhs.net, ecastro@nhs.net

ABCD Webinar Series

ABCD Webinars