You are here

Winners of the Rowan Hillson safety award (2017): Best Digital Initiative (Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care)

Professor Mike Sampson (Chair JBDS-IP)
Date of the announcement: 
Monday, 16 April, 2018

This is to announce the results of this national competition for ‘the best digital initiative’. We are very grateful to Dr Rowan Hillson and her fellow judges, Dr Ketan Dhatariya, Dr Clare Crowley,Erwin Castro and Oliver Jelley for their time in judging this competition.

Dr Umesh Dashora, Erwin Castro and Debbie Stanisstreet led this project, and the winning Trusts,

and the (lead person/s) who submitted their entries are as follows:

The Winner::

Western General Hospital, NHS Lothian  (Dr Stuart Ritchie)) HERE and supporting info HERE

The Runner-up:

King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust (Dr Charlotte Boughton) HERE

This initiative from the Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care aims to promote excellent practice in insulin safety. The submissions were judged by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson against predefined criteria. The winning submissions are available to download from ABCD, Diabetes UK and DISN UK Group websites.

There will be an awards presentation at the ABCD meeting on Wednesday 23rd May 2018 in Glasgow.

We are grateful to Christine Jones for coordinating this award.

For more information, please visit:

Message Dr Dr Rowan Hillson click HERE or or contact the Safer Insulin Prescribing Group:,,

User login