Spring Meeting 2020 Banner

Spring Meeting Programme

Thursday 23rd April

Session time Session title
18:00 ABCD AGM
18:45 The John Wales Memorial Lecture 2020 Dr. Jonathan Bodansky, Leeds
19:30 Drinks Reception and Presentation of the Rowan Hillson Insulin Safety Award
20:00 Dinner

Friday 24th April

09.00 – 10.30 Session 1

Session Chairs: TBC

Session time Session title
09:00 Real-life and observational studies of diabetes medications: just junk? Professor Philip Home, Newcastle upon Tyne
09:45 A year in Diabetes related Nephropathy Professor Tahseen Chowdhury, London
Dr. Adnan Sharif, Birmingham
10:30 Tea, coffee and posters

11.00 – 13.00 Session 2

Session Chairs: TBC

Session time Session title
11:00 Paradigm shift in Diagnosis of type 1 diabetes Professor Polly Bingley, Bristol
11:45 Exercise in Type 1 diabetes - are we advising patients correctly? Dr. Parth Narendran, Birmingham
12:15 Sponsored Symposium To Be Confirmed
13:00 Lunch & Posters

14.00 – 16.00 Session 3

Session Chairs: TBC

Session time Session title
14:00 Speed orals from four selected abstracts
15:00 Audit and workforce updates Dr. Bob Ryder, Birmingham
Dr. Stella George, Stevenage
15:00 SpR Parallel Workshops (15.00 - 16.00) Choice of two sessions
1. Clinical conundrum cases: Gastroparesis, Dr Stephen Thomas & DKA Dilemmas, Dr Ketan Dhatariya

2. How do I do.....leadership? Prof Baldev Singh

3. How do I do......research? Dr Parth Narendran

4. How do I .....set up a service in the modern NHS? Dr Vijay Jayagopal
Stephen Thomas, London
Professor Ketan Dhatariya, Norwich
Dr. Parth Narendran, Birmingham
Dr. Vijay Jayagopal, York
Professor Baldev M Singh, Wolverhampton
15:30 ABCD workstream update ABCD Executive To Be Confirmed
16:00 Tea, coffee and posters

16.30 – 17.30 Session 4

Session Chairs: TBC

Session time Session title
16:30 Debate: Cardiologists should not routinely prescribe SGLT2i medications To Be Confirmed
17:15 Prizes and Close



Meeting Speakers


Meeting Venue