

JBDS-IP Joint British Diabetes Societies for inpatient care

The Rowan Hillson Insulin Safety Award (2015):

Winner of the Best UK Inpatient Hypoglycaemia Avoidance Initiative (Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care)

By: Professor Mike Sampson (Chair JBDS-IP)

Date: 4th April 2016

Dear Colleague

This is to announce the results of this national competition this year for the best initiative in avoiding inpatient hypoglycaemia. There is one winner and one runner up. We are very grateful to Dr Rowan Hillson and her fellow judges, Dr Ali Chakera, Dr Clare Crowley Dr Alex Gravelling, Claire Phipps, and Esther Walden, for their time in judging these initiatives.

Dr Umesh Dashora, Erwin Castro and Debbie Stanisstreet led this project, and the winning Trusts, and the (lead person/s) who submitted the charts are as follows:

Winner: Dr Gerry Rayman, Dr Rajesh Rajendran, Christopher Kelly, Sarah Barker, Rachael Round, Anne Scott and the DICE Team, The Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

http://www.diabetologists-abcd.org.uk/JBDS/Winner_lpswich_Submission.pdf

http://www.diabetologists-abcd.org.uk/JBDS/Winner_Ipswich_Supporting_doc1.pdf

http://www.diabetologists-abcd.org.uk/JBDS/Winner_lpswich_Supporting doc2.pdf

http://www.diabetologists-abcd.org.uk/JBDS/Winner_lpswich_Supporting_doc3.pdf

Runner up: Amanda Davis, Kim Bull, Amanda Veall and the RCHT Sim Team, Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust

http://www.diabetologists-abcd.org.uk/JBDS/Runner-up_Royal Cornwall_Submission.pdf

http://www.diabetologists-abcd.org.uk/JBDS/Runner-up_Royal_Cornwall_Supporting_doc.pdf

This initiative from the Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care aims to promote excellent practice in insulin safety in inpatients. The submissions were judged by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson against predefined criteria. The winning initiatives are available for colleagues to look at on this site, and there will be an awards presentation at the ABCD meeting in April 2016.

We are grateful to Christine Jones for coordinating this award.

For more information, please visit <u>www.diabetologists-abcd.org.uk</u> or contact the Safer Insulin Prescribing Group: <u>umesh.dashora@esht.nhs.uk</u>, <u>debbie.stanisstreet@nhs.net</u>, <u>erwin.castro@esht.nhs.uk</u>